Chanel Poudre Universelle Compacte in 50 Peche Review, Photos, Swatches

Published November 1, 2014 by Nikki

My MAC Blot powder ran out so I needed new compact face powder to tote everywhere I go. I considered repurchasing because it’s definitely one of my HGs but I’ve been using it daily for two consecutive years and I wanted to try something new. I considered the compact version of my NARS loose powder but when I found out that this Chanel powder is on sale at 20% off at BeautyMNL, I decided to try it, seeing that the discounted price is cheaper than NARS.

I’m glad I did! So far I’m enjoying it. It is oozing with luxury, as the slightly shimmery powder is encased in a smooth plastic case with velvet pouch. The powder comes with a soft thin puff so I don’t have to lug a powder brush.

The texture of the powder is smooth and silky, unlike MAC Blot which is slightly rough and difficult to get on the puff and onto the face. The powder has visible shimmer, but very, very small so don’t worry, you won’t look like a disco ball. The shimmers are sort of what you find in MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural. The powder is very finely-milled and easy to apply using the puff.

Chanel doesn’t provide much coverage but it’s definitely great at oil control. Using MAC Blot allows my face to be shine free for about 3-4 hours while Chanel keeps my face matte for about 4-5 hours. I love how I don’t have to do frequent touch-ups! I don’t know if it’s because my face is less oily nowadays, though.

I admit, the 50 Peche shade is a bit light on my NC35/Medium Dark skin. It also leans a little bit on the peach side rather than yellow. But since the powder is sheer/translucent, it doesn’t matter. The lightness of the powder actually helps with giving me a glow without making my face look chalky/gray-ish. The glow isn’t screaming so my face doesn’t look too different with the rest of my skin tone. The shade 30 Naturel would have been a perfect match for me and it also has the right tint of yellow but unfortunately, it was sold out.

This translucent powder is similar to NARS Light Reflecting Pressed Powder. I have only tried the latter in a NARS counter so I can’t compare the two when it comes to lasting power etc. The NARS one is also made for setting liquid foundations, but since I don’t wear any foundations underneath, I would go for the Chanel because it provides a bit of color. A little tiny bit.

Overall, I love how it’s translucent for daily touchups without looking chalky and feeling heavy. I love the smoothness and silkiness of the powder that it easily blends on the face. I love how it effectively keeps oil at bay for hours. Most of all, I love how it’s a whopping 15 grams, more substantial than other compact powders. For the price, I think it’s definitely worth it!

2 comments on “Chanel Poudre Universelle Compacte in 50 Peche Review, Photos, Swatches

  • Leave a Reply

        Food + World + Me

    I like me my adventures. :)

    ommorphia beauty bar

    ... a beautiful passion

    A Stairway To Fashion

    contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

    Say Hello to Gorgeous

    Welcome to the prettiest place on the internet

    The Little Scottish Corner

    A Scottish Beauty blog

