NARS Pro-Prime Light Optimizing Primer SPF 15 Review, Photos, Swatches

Published February 23, 2014 by Nikki

I’ve been looking for a primer that would replace my MAC Skin Base Visage. My choices had been this or Laura Mercier’s. However, this one got the most positive reviews. I wanted something that is luminizing but isn’t glittery; like a cross between a primer and an illuminator that isn’t that obvious. I guess this is the closest thing to that. MAC has very visible glittery specks when swatched but not when applied. NARS Radiance Enhancing primer doesn’t have that kind of glitter, but it does a good job at giving that instant radiant look without being overly shiny.

See more photos below!

When it comes to keeping makeup stay all day, I’m not really certain if it improves the staying power of my NARS Sheer Glow foundation because the latter holds on its own all day. I guess I’m really using this Primer for the added sheen and radiance. It does a good job at that especially if I use a different foundation. Sheer Glow has its own way of making the skin glow so if you think you don’t need the radiance this primer can give, you can opt for their other Pro-Prime varieties.

At least this Primer comes with SPF 15 as an added bonus. As for the texture, it comes in a sort of dry white glob that is kinda difficult to spread all over the face. I guess this is because of its lack of silicone in the ingredients, which is good I guess, as silicone is known to clog pores and whatnot. You don’t have to worry about white casts (known if a formula contains SPF) because I don’t get that at all, even in the photos. When you spread it evenly, it has this sorta muted champagne sheen that leans a little bit gold. You won’t be able to see if you don’t look at it closely. From afar it looks almost like a gorgeous natural radiance.

When you start applying your foundation though, I don’t know where this radiance goes. Probably covered by thick foundation. 😛 I guess you can try mixing this Primer with your foundation to add some glow to your foundation. Another bonus for this primer is it doesn’t make my face oily at all even with the added SPF.

Overall, it’s a pretty decent primer if you want added natural sheen and a little bit of sun protection, other than that, I’m not entirely sure. I’ve been using Sheer Glow as my foundation and it’s pretty effing gorgeous that I’m not sure if this Primer contributes anything. I’d like to think it does!

I bought this in Hong Kong for HKD 350.00 (P2,006). Not entirely sure what the price is here in the PH. Contrary to popular belief that cosmetics in Hong Kong are cheaper than here in the Philippines, NARS is more expensive in HK, only by a fraction. It’s better to buy here because stocks here in PH are more abundant. I scoured all NARS stores in HK just to find my shade for the foundation and concealer. PH sales assistants are also more polite, helpful, and easily understood (lol).

Leave a Reply

Food + World + Me

I like me my adventures. :)

ommorphia beauty bar

... a beautiful passion

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Say Hello to Gorgeous

Welcome to the prettiest place on the internet

The Little Scottish Corner

A Scottish Beauty blog

