NARS Sheer Glow Liquid Foundation in Santa Fe Review, Photos, Swatches

Published November 24, 2013 by Nikki

I bought this on a whim and never thought I would love it. I love it so much that I’m already looking to purchasing a darker shade, and more NARS products (again, to my Adam love’s dismay ❤ )

Having used it for a few weeks now, I found out why it’s included in almost all of the Top 10 list of best liquid foundations in the interwebz. Although it’s expensive (a bit more than what I pay for my MACs and Cliniques), it’s definitely worth it. Although maybe its best to buy it when Sephora and Nordstrom do their 25% off sales.

Anyway, onto my review:

NARS Sheer Glow Liquid Foundation in Santa Fe or Medium 2 (30ml, 1 fl.oz; Made in USA)

Contrary to its name, this liquid foundation is not sheer at all. It offers medium to full coverage, depending how much product you use. It does live up to its “Glow” claim though, giving a more dewy finish compared to its sister, the Sheer Matte, which I haven’t tried yet 😛

Its consistency is surprisingly not as thick as you would expect from a full-on liquid foundation. It’s very easy to glide it all over the face, making distribution fine and even. I would suggest however, to use a medium to apply it, such as a stippling brush or my current favorite BeautyBlender sponge. It applies like a dream, and dries fast, but not as fast that you’ll have uneven patches due to lack of time to spread it evenly.

The finished product is a clear-looking face, with a hint of glow, making it closer to perfect un-made skin. If you want a polished no-make look, this foundation really stands out. It doesn’t have that concrete feeling and look AT ALL, which makes it even better to wear.

Despite looking natural, this foundation does its work in keeping your skin flawless for up to 8 hours (provided that you use a decent primer. I use MAC Prep + Prime). After this mark, the foundation starts to wear off. I’m not sure how long it lasts without primer, but I reckon around 6 hours before it starts sliding off, triggered by my oily face + tropical weather.

(Nars Sheer Glow Santa Fe – Bottom; Mineralize Concealer NW30 – Top)

(From Top to Bottom: OCC Skin: Conceal Y2, Mineralize Concealer NW30, Nars Sheer Glow Santa Fe, Clinique Stay Matte Golden Neutral)

You may see in my swatches that it’s lighter than my skin tone. Yes, it is. Santa Fe/Medium 2 will prolly look impeccable in NC25 skin. But with my NC35 skin, it’s definitely lighter. To use it, I combine it with my Clinique Stay Matte Foundation in Golden Neutral and apply it using BB Sponge to make sure of its evenness. I use Santa Fe on its own as my undereye brightener and it works waaayy better than some undereye concealers I’ve used. Surprisingly, it doesn’t cake!

Looking to purchase Stromboli or Barcelona. Haven’t made up my mind yet! For those who know, will Stromboli be perfect on NC35 alone? But if I use Barcelona, will I have my desired shade if I combine it with Santa Fe?

2 comments on “NARS Sheer Glow Liquid Foundation in Santa Fe Review, Photos, Swatches

  • Leave a Reply

        Food + World + Me

    I like me my adventures. :)

    ommorphia beauty bar

    ... a beautiful passion

    A Stairway To Fashion

    contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

    Say Hello to Gorgeous

    Welcome to the prettiest place on the internet

    The Little Scottish Corner

    A Scottish Beauty blog

