MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural Medium Dark Review and Photos

Published April 11, 2013 by Nikki

MAC’s Mineralize Skinfinish Natural has everything a face powder needs to have and more – It’s finely milled, and baked to perfection. MAC also claims that it’s healthier and looks more natural on the skin (hence the name) compared to other pressed powders. It would have been great , except for that creamy feeling you get after puffing/swirling/buffing it on despite being in a powder form.

For oily skinned gals, this might work the opposite of a powder finisher after foundation application as it’s too “enriched” with moisture that maybe an hour of being under the sun would make your face pool with oil – not a great sight! I think this powder targets the dry-skinned market as it hydrates and the after-effect is a dewy, healthy, glow. That’s kinda’ unfair, right? Us with oily skins also want to get that kind of glow that doesn’t look like a makeup did it.

Sooooo if you really want to make this work, (like for example, you already bought it and have no choice but to use it because it’s too expensive to throw out or give away) it’s possible and here’s how:

I have combination skin (oily on the t-zone, dry on everywhere else) but during the sweltering days here in the Philippines, I can get as oily as an ensaymada. During those days, using MSF is already out of the picture (huwag ipilit!) and my holy grail blot powder comes in.

But during those days when I know I will be staying all day in a cold place and no sweat can squeeze out of my pores, I grab the opportunity to pat this powder on without worry. I don’t put too much makeup so there won’t be anything that would cake. Just a concealer (I use OCC Conceal) and I’m good to go.

When I need more coverage though, like when my skin decides to have red splotches all over, I use a foundation with a matte formula and anything with anti-oil in it such as Clinique’s Stay Matte foundation. That way, I can still use my MSF to get that non-overkill dewy look. For touch-ups, I leave it to my blot powder. Trust me, no matter how promising MSF is, you don’t want to add more colour and powder on your face.

Shade: I have it in Medium Dark; I’m NC30 – 35 for reference. I reckon Medium Plus would work on me as well.
Where to buy: Got my friend from the US buy it for me
How much: $30 maccosmetics.com / P1,750 in local MAC stores

Leave a Reply

Food + World + Me

I like me my adventures. :)

ommorphia beauty bar

... a beautiful passion

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Say Hello to Gorgeous

Welcome to the prettiest place on the internet

The Little Scottish Corner

A Scottish Beauty blog

